Interview with DJ YRS Jerzy‏

Starting as a DJ, at the age of 17 years old, Jersey City, NJ native DJ YRS Jerzy is next in line as one of the industry’s next big DJ’s. DJ YRS Jerzy which stands for Young Riot Squad being highly influenced by Funk Master Flex, DJ Whoo Kid and DJ Drama, Dj YRS Jerzy is looking to be the next Dj to set his mark on the game, catch out the intervew below to get a insight into what he is about and what to look out for in the future.

1 Where did you grow up?

I grew up in Jersey City, NJ but i am currently in Charlotte, NC to focus on my career in the music business. I feel like moving to Charlotte was good for me in a couple ways because i don’t have so many distractions out here. When i was in New Jersey i really wasn’t focused on anything but as soon as i came North Carolina i met up with alot of people that had the same dreams i did.

2 What inspired you to make music?

I don’t make music i play and promote it i manage a dope up and coming artist named Chox-Mak i know he has the potential to become a mainstream artist. I mainly focus on building my career as a DJ and working with Chox-Mak. I am also signed to SKE Records which is an independent label out in Philly. Trel Mack is the main artist that SKE Records is pushing right now but we also have a team of DJ’s and other artists.

3 When did your interest in music shift from being a hobby to something you wanted to pursue as a career?

It all really started two years ago when i was 17. I decided that this was something that i wanted to do with my life and i know that i chose the right career. I was always interested in this music industry but never knew how to set things up. This year i have been doing things that i could oly dream of when i was 17 and this isn’t even the start of everything that is in store for me.

4 Who were some of your influences in music?

I was definitely inspired by Funk Master Flex and DJ Drama they are two DJ’s that brought very different elements to this game. They are one of the main reasons of why i wanted to DJ it was just always something i used to do and one day decided to make it my career. I know that i will bring my own originality to the game one day it is just a matter of hard work and time.

5 Have you got any up and coming projects or collaboration your working on at the moment?

Yes i am working on an 4-Track EP with my artist Chox-Mak called “Audio Murder”. That will be heavily promoted on the internet when it drops next friday. Another project that i am working on is “Talented Minds” with Q The Question who is the Co-Owner of SKE Records with Trel Mack. Talented Minds is on hold right now because both me and Q have been very busy with other things we will re announce everything when we are ready to start selling slots again.

6 What has been your biggest challenge so far in the music business?

My biggest challenge is finding people with the same work ethic as me i feel like there are only a few people like me out there that actually want to make it happen. Everyone i work with know is going hard everyday to make this dream happen and i can’t wait to see what happens from there.

7 What do you feel is the most important thing about making music?

I think the most important thing about making music would be about how you feel when you are choosing the perfect beat for your project. I know that alot of artists get writers block sometimes but they always come through with good music for the people that support them. So i would say the most important thing would be choosing the proper people to work with to help build something great.

8 Where would you like to see yourself in five years?

I see myself on top of the game and managing one of the biggest artists in the game. I know that SKE Records will be one of the biggest labels because all we do is work. We all have that work ethic that will take us far in the game hopefully in the next five years i can look back and say that this was exatly what i visioned.

1 dj yrs jerzy

Shout out to Dj Yrs for the interview.

Follow Dj Yrs on his social network sites:
http://facebook.com/djyrsjerzypage
http://www.twitter.com/iamdjyrsjerzy
http://www.soundcloud.com/djyrsjerzy
http://www.youtube.com/yrsjerzy

